Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #1) by Laini Taylor Mini Book Review

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.
In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.
And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.
Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.
When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

** SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

After much persuading by my friend Rachana at Inspired By Literature, I finally decided to pick up Daughter of Smoke and Bone. I had heard SOOOO many people raving about this book, and I wasn’t sure if it was worth the hype, hence the hesitation on my part. After reading it, I can honestly admit that I was pleasantly surprised because I thoroughly enjoyed it. The captivating plot hooks the reader in from the beginning, and I just could not put the book down (so yes, I may or may not have stayed up super late reading it).

The story follows a girl named Karou, and she has a little bit of an identity crisis. She leads a double life~ one at an art school in Prague, and another in a supernatural world, on the hunt for teeth to give to Brimstone (her only father figure) for no apparent reason. I really love her character because she’s strong willed and isn’t afraid to back down when things get hard. Karou is smart, sassy, and just overall kick-butt, but what I think makes her stand out is her independence. Rather than cling to the first guy she meets and base her whole life around him, she is able to maintain a sense of reality and is able to judge what’s right and wrong. As for the other characters, I personally had mixed feelings. There were some characters that really had me intrigued (cough Brimstone cough), and I would like to learn more about them. As for Akiva… I’m really like his character. I can’t say I love him though. He’s so freaking awesome, and is a really determined, caring guy, but at the same time, towards the end of the book (for those of you who read it, you know what I mean), I wasn’t sure what to think.

The plot of the book was incredible in my opinion. A little bit of everything was weaved into one very well flowing story. There was some Romeo/Juliet underlaying plots, Angle/Demon stuff, AND things about wishes and collecting teeth. It seems very hectic to place all of that into one book, but I think that Laini Taylor pulls it off really well.

Overall, I thought that the pace of this book is just right, and the plot is captivating and alluring. Though I had mixed feelings about some of the characters, I definitely think that I will be picking up the next books. 4/5 Stars

2 thoughts on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #1) by Laini Taylor Mini Book Review

Leave a comment